City Church is not a church with small groups, but a church of smaller groups. "Smaller groups" can mean a few different things: discipleship groups, women's or men's bible studies, or City Groups. City Groups are a place where you are known and loved at City Church–and also a place from which we are sent out into the world.

KNOWN AND LOVED

Most of our relationships are saddled with a heavy and abiding fear: “If they truly knew me, they would reject me.”

In the Gospel of Jesus Christ we are told that we are fully known–to the deepest corners of the things we keep hidden, and that we are truly loved–with a great love by a great God.

City Groups exist to serve our community so that we might know for certain that we are both known and loved. Through the experience of being part of a community that drinks deeply from the well of God’s grace, we learn that the power of the Gospel in our lives transforms our relationships so that the fear of rejection–both from God and from one another–might be lifted and replaced with a confidence of God’s love for us in Jesus Christ and his church.

sent out

City Groups are a place from which we are sent out into the world: into our vocations, our neighborhoods, our friendships, and our families. And we are not sent out alone, but with one another in the knowledge that Jesus Christ goes before us, behind us, and with us as we seek to serve him in the work he has called us to do.


All City Groups are led by trained lay-leaders from the congregation who receive continued oversight and support from our pastoral staff. City Groups meet at least twice a month for worship, Bible study, fellowship, and prayer.

If you’re interested in joining a City Group, feel free to contact the leaders below or contact Harrison Ford, our Pastor of Spiritual Formation, at harrison@citychurchrva.com.


The Fan

Harrison & Brittany Ford/Dan & Megan Carson
Tuesdays, 7:30pm
Contact: harrison@citychurchrva.com

Erik & Sarah Bonkovsky
Wednesdays, 7pm
Contact: erik@citychurchrva.com

Quentin and Bekah Dill/Sean and Lindsey Gould
Wednesdays, 7:30pm
Contact: QDill23@gmail.com

Byrd Park

Will & Allison Mears/Taylor & Sarah Quinn
Wednesdays, 7:30pm
Contact: Allisonmthornton@gmail.com

 

Willow Lawn

Will & Leah Jarrett
Wednesdays, 7:30pm
Contact: waj1228@gmail.com

 

Near West End

Catherine Kerns
Every other Tuesday, 6:30pm
Contact: ckerns4@verizon.net

Mack & Rebecca Hendrix
Tuesdays, 7:30pm
Contact: mackhendrix@gmail.com

Sam & Tyler Joiner
Every other Tuesday, 7:30pm
Contact: samueldjoiner@gmail.com

Frank & Kate Allen/Hatch & Shannon Reppard
Wednesdays, 7pm
Contact: frank.allen@richmond.edu

far west end

Jason & Emily Bryant
Thursdays, 7:30pm
Contact: emilykaybryant@gmail.com 

museum district

Ryan & Stacia Parks/Jeremiah & Leah Eldridge
Wednesdays, 7:30pm
Contact: eldridgejs@gmail.com

Alex & Liz Thomson
Wednesdays, 7:30pm
Contact: thomsonalexj@gmail.com  

 

Northside

Andrew & Olivia Hall/Daniel & Emily Jakubisin
Tuesdays, 7:30pm
Contact: otibbetts@gmail.com

Chris & Liz Rohde/Ben & Kate MacKinnon
Wednesdays, 7:30pm
Contact: jcrohde@gmail.com

David & Alix Young/Jamie Mock
Thursdays, 7pm
Contact: jamesmock5@gmail.com

  

CHURCH HILL

David & Haley Lawler
Wednesdays, 7:30pm
Contact: david.a.lawler@gmail.com 

 

At Grace Covenant

James & Jennifer Murphy
2nd and 4th Sundays, 5:30pm
Contact: jennifer.c.murphy@gmail.com